Indian Railways has spread a huge set of connections of rail tracks all the way through the country. Whether it is a inaccessible village or urbanized metropolitan cities, Indian Railway reaches the rail customers in each and every remote division of the country. This extensive network is divided into sixteen zones for managerial and organizational reasons. All the zonal railway in addition consists of a number of divisions. Calcutta Metro is completely organized by Indian Railways, yet it does not figure the part of any zone. Konkan Railway is the fresh addition to the scheduled railway zones of India that is managed by the Railway Ministry and the Railway Board. The record accepting the names of sixteen railway zones and their headquarters are given here.

Headquarters for various Zones
Northern Railway- Delhi
North Eastern Railway- Gorakhpur
Northeast Frontier Railway- Maligaon
Eastern Railway- Kolkatta
South Eastern Railway-Kolkatta
Southern Railway-Chennai
Western Railway- Mumbai
South Western Railway- Hubli
North Western Railway- Jaipur
West Central Railway- Jabalpur
North Central Railway-Ahemedabad
South East Central Railway- Bilaspur
East Coast Railway- Bhubaneswar
East Central Railway- Hajipur
Konkan Railway- Navi Mumbai

The most important railway zones that can be noted are as follows:

Central Indian Railway
The Central Railway (CR) is possibly the very old railway zone of Indian rail authorities. This is one in the middle of the biggest of the sixteen zones divided by Indian Railways.

Southern Indian Railway
Southern Railway (SR) is recognized to be the primary railway zone that required establishment in open-minded and free thinking India. On April 14th 1951, Southern Railway was recognized by uniting three state railways together with Madras and Southern Mahratta Railway, South Indian Railway and Mysore State Railway.

Eastern Indian Railway
The Eastern Railway is considered to be one of the most important zones of Indian Railways. Practically positioned in Kolkata being its headquarters, the Eastern zone is separated out into four divisions including Howrah, Malda, Sealdah, and Asansol for improved and superior administration.

Northern Indian Railway

The Northern Railway (NR) is one in the middle of the nine previous zones of Indian Railways. Delhi, the capital city of India, serves up as the head office of Northern Railway.

Western Indian Railway
The Western Railway (WR) happens to be one of the most jostled rail networks in India. Along with headquarters of Central Railway, Mumbai take pleasure in the authority over this railway network too, being the head office located at Churchgate (Mumbai).